Congratulations Mike ‘Sonko’ Mbuvi

21 09 2010

I know you know politics really isn’t my forte, but this is matatu related so stay with me.

I just want to congratulate Mike Sonko for capturing the Makadara seat,to be honest I never really thought he could do it. I thought he was just the odd first timer trying to get his name out there for better prospects in 2012. So you can understand why I went ‘WTF just happened?!?’ when it broke on TV that he had ACTUALLY WON! And most of all against veterans like Reuben Ndolo and Mr. Dick, Im proud of you son.

Mike is a Buruburu big shot who made his money investing majorly in the matatu industry. Rumor has it that he is offering free rides on his mats for a week..I donno,Im gonna have to get a confirmation from a Buruan on this one.

For those not in the know, Mike (also known as Artur) is the guy behind mats like Jewel, Ferrari, Ruffcuts, Grills, Lakers, and that double decker bus, All 58’s, and Club Casurina in Buru.

I know this is a really long shot but I’m truly hoping he will do something to bring back our matatu culture,we just cannot live like this.

I had gotten so used to picking mats at my bus stop that going back to boarding just anything, (since they all look the same now) was hard to adjust to. If only we had Ali ‘Mr. I Don’t Care’ Mwakwere on the transport helm,things would be looking up.

Some pics of his mats;

Ferrari

Brown Sugar

DPG

Ruffcuts

Grillz

Pictures sent by readers,loving the support. Thanks y’all 😀


Actions

Information

17 responses

21 09 2010
wa wa poa tu

mambo biad

21 09 2010
matmania

Voted for him?

25 09 2010
marlon

God bless ya and kip working,i wish we had another sonko to take on embakasi.we dont even have a reason to vote in embakasi, kip moving man

26 09 2010
matmania

Amen to that!

27 09 2010
nikkita harriet

put God first in wateva u r goin to do & u will neve b dissapointed

17 10 2010
SP

Brilliant web site, I had not noticed matmania.wordpress.com earlier in my searches!
Carry on the fantastic work!

24 11 2010
nick-ngeria

MIKE uko sawa, but court case is political, just to finish you politically.

7 12 2010
kioko

jus keep it up, nice hustle in Kenya.booooom!!!

31 01 2011
Abdulmajid

Budaa kama umetoboa kwa mathree hata hizo zingine utatoboa. Once an Eastside always an Eastside. Hawatupendi coz we give em’ real lakini wajue sikupenda kwetu its coz we learn it the hard way. Big up Sonko!!!

25 07 2011
Njenga

Facebook.com

7 08 2011
George Koros

HI,MIKEURTHE THE RIGHT PERSON AND WILL NOT FORGET U FOR WHAT UR DOING.GO ON WITH THE SAME SPIRIT. ..

17 12 2011
Deno ruto

Pliz si mu involve some latest things

30 12 2011
Boss Otieno Onyango

You are fine daddy.A man of the common man-that is you!

25 03 2012
Edu

Swag ya buda iko juu kudoz!

27 03 2012
fyefai

thexs mr sonko–kimoja 2012

3 11 2012
Derrick

uko waguan budaaaa…….mi laik di mathreeee i wish we had xam rexent one in kix kis sec boss

30 01 2013
evanny

Kuddos my Man we feel yah waves hata huku lakeside city

Leave a comment